Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm brand new to shotguns in general. In fact I've only handled a club cynergy O/U at a basic trapshooting class I took last week. I'm not new to guns though and I've been shooting NRA highpower rifle competitions for over a dozen years.

Okay, here's my question. I have a Browning BPS Hunting 12g with a 28" barrel. What's the proper way to load it during a round of trap. Just by reading the manual, I'm assuming it's one shell into the mag, work the action back then forward, then take the gun off safe and call "pull." Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks for your help.

edited to add: One additional question; which choke should I be using in this gun for trap?

·
Registered
6,215 Posts
Welcome to the forum :D

huckster said:
I'm assuming it's one shell into the mag, work the action back then forward, then take the gun off safe and call "pull."
Only if you want to upset serious, trapshooting old phartes .........like me :wink: that are shooting on the same squad.

There is a more efficient way that will be easier for you in the long run and will not draw attention.

For loading the BPS for trap singles, they are similar to an Ithace M37 in that regard, here it is;

I shot an Ithaca M37 Supreme Trap from 1972 to 1976 steadily and became quite proficient at it. The same system works for the BPS.

With the gun empty and open, hold the gun right side up, muzzle slightly down, as you do with any repeating trap gun when on station.

"Bump" the fore end forward about 1/4", this will cam the carrier up to the upper part of its cycle, clearing a path to the chamber.

Insert a shell into the ejector port and "thumb" it directly into the chamber. This is the part that takes just a bit of practice.

Pull the for end back, the carrier will "drop" and now the shell cannot fall out even if the gun is tipped back.

When it is your turn to shot, close the gun and shoulder it in one motion.