Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm new to shotgun ownership having just inherited a Model 37. I can't seem to find the S/N on this thing? Can someone please give a hint on where to look?

Thanks

Hemicbx

·
Registered
42 Posts
How about on the front of the receiver, near where the barrel joins? Same number would be on the barrel with a hypenated number following that indicated the choke. -2 mod, -4 full

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, the barrel markings only say:
Ithaca Gun Co., Inc. Ithaca, N.Y.-Patent No. 1849982-Model 37
12 Ga. 2-2/3 Chamber

No indication of choke type.

On the front of the receiver, there is only a four digit number. Sure doesn't look like a S/N to me.

Any thoughts?

Hemicbx

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
If this is a pre-1963 M. 37, believe it would also be engraved in the barrel, just fore of the receiver and on the bottom. Guns with pre-855,000 serial numbers were hand-fitted together at the Ithaca factory.

But if you do, in fact, have an original 1937 M. 37, I think you may be sitting on quite a special firearm.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
OK, well I pulled the barrel off and sure enough, on the bottom of the barrel is the same four digit number that's stamped on the front of the receiver. On the barrel, just before the number is a little 4-sided star kind of stamp as well

Personall, I have a had time believing it's a 1937 gun, although I don't know all the history of it. It is a really nice piece, however.

BTW, the number is in the 1,000 range and the gun does have the little helper pin on the magazine end cap.

Hemicbx

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
Hemicbx,

Interesting. You've taken me in over my head, I'm afraid.

I'll politely defer to others who know far more about 37s than I. Wags, Bushrod, Lecky56, Walt Snyder: I think this gentleman has a question for you...

·
Registered
51 Posts