Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to owning a shotgun, just bought a Mossberg 500 "Special Purpose Persuader" 12 ga 18.5" barrel shotgun for home defense.

I just joined the NRA and am looking into taking a shotgun intro course.

I have a couple of newbie questions, hope you bear with me.

1) Besides home defense, I'd like to use the gun for hunting or target practice. My understanding that the 18.5" barrel length is best suited for close range in tight spaces, like for home defense. What length barrel would I need for hunting and target practice?

2) Can I swap out the 18.5" barrel for a longer barrel, without having to buy a completely new gun? Do I need any other parts?

3) I bought rifled slugs for target practice at the NRA gun range. I plan to spend some time shooting at targets to get comfortable with the gun. Do I need a heat shield for the barrel? I've read 2 things on this forum: a) don't get the heat shield, it's just for looks, and it will scratch your barrel, and b) you'll want a heat shield if you're firing more than 3 shells in a succession. Just trying to get a consensus on this before I go to the gun range.

Thanks. I know nothing about guns as my questions probably reflect, but I'm looking forward to enjoying gun ownership.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
bigtuna said:
1) Besides home defense, I'd like to use the gun for hunting or target practice. My understanding that the 18.5" barrel length is best suited for close range in tight spaces, like for home defense. What length barrel would I need for hunting and target practice?
A barrel with a length of anywhere from from 24inches to 28inches will work for most shotgun sports/hunting. Mine happens to be 28 inches.

2) Can I swap out the 18.5" barrel for a longer barrel, without having to buy a completely new gun? Do I need any other parts?