Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guess I'll be asking questions here for awhile since my wife got me an MEC Sizemaster for Christmas. I'm new to reloading and have just enough knowledge to be DANGEROUS!! I consulted my gun dealer and he got me started with some information and products to reload about 200 rounds. This is the stuff that I have.

Manual - Lyman Shotshell Reloading Handbook
Hulls - Winchester AA (once fired)
Wads - Winchester AA WAA12
Primers - Winchester W209
Powder - Hodgdon Clays
Shot - West Coast Premium 7.5

Reading my manual finding some clay loads for the AA hulls is pretty easy. In fact there are a lot of them in there that would seem to work well for my skeet and trap purposes.

Up until now I have been buying Winchester Universal shells from Wal-Mart and Estate shells from Sportsmans Warehouse. I kept all of these hulls thinking that today would come and I might get to reload them. However, I am now at a loss as I can't seem to find any information about reloading these hulls. The Winchester Universal are much like the AA and the only reference I find in my manual for Winchester is "Compression Form Plastic Cases". Does this mean all Winchester Plastic Cases? It is my understanding that Estate Cartridges were at one time made by Federal but I am not certain. If this is the case then following the instructions for reloading Federal hulls would probably work.

These Win Universal and Estate 12 ga hulls should be good for at least a few reloads but it would be really nice to hear if some of you guys have already done it. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Also, any general information about reloading would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

·
Registered
323 Posts