Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new to reloading and just acquired a .410 reloader. Does anyone have any hulls they want to sell? I need about 200 or so.....thanks a million.

·
Registered
388 Posts
Sirgknight;

Welcome to the games we play.

I am only one of many who has begun to reload shotshells and I too am fairly new to the game although not to reloading in general.

I would tell you and many will agree that the very best way to get your hulls is to buy some new, WW 410HS in the shot size you want and then reload them.
The reason being, that 410 hulls are so darned expensive my friend.
I had this advice when I started and it has IMHO been very good advice to have followed for about a year now.
I bought several cases in #9 and have been reloading them every since with great success, using some recommended loads that have been perfect for me and my gun and tubes.

Beyond that, good luck trying to find some at a decent price in good shape. Be careful now.

And I believe you have come to the right place as there are some of the most knowledgeable and experienced reloaders any place in the country right here on this forum.
They will also go out of their way to help you if you are sincere.

UncleFudd

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
UncleFudd said:
...buy some new, WW 410HS in the shot size you want and then reload them.
It's impossible to overemphasize the importance of getting WAAHS shotshells if you plan to reload the hulls.

In 28 gauge and .410 bore, they're the most reloadable hull around and are good for as many as 12.

For propellants, stick to W296 or H110. The "new generation" .410 powders will reduce the reload life of WAAHS hulls severely.

Don't know why they do, but they do. They don't seem to have that affect on other hulls.

No matter what powder you use, the crimps on STS hulls will self-destruct very reliably on their own, burning and gnarling inward by about the fifth reload.