Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried one of the newer Win. 101 sporting models?

Are they using the same action as the Select Entergy's? The look to be several hundred dollars cheaper that a Browning 625.

How do the two compare?

·
Registered
5,306 Posts
buck2 said:
Are they using the same action as the Select Entergy's?
Same action. Built in Belgium by FN and outstanding value. The action is less bulky and more Italian style than Citoris but at less than 8lbs perhaps not quite heavy enough for the serious clay shooters.

2 gunsmiths I know both rate them for reliability/durability as right up there with Browning & Beretta.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I have been shooting a Select Platinum for two years. Added an adjustable comb and a 10mm raised rib and it shoots great. I now have a custom fitted gun for way less than a B gun.

FN makes both guns by the way.

·
Registered
10,534 Posts
To clarify: FN makes the Winchesters in Belgium. While FN owns Browning, the Citori 625, as always, is made in Japan by Miroku, not by FN.

I'd be happy to own the Winchester with its Belgian barrel set and low-profile receiver. I have tried the 625, and while the improved barrels make it not nearly as bad as most Citoris I've tried, it's still not something I'd want, particularly in 12 Gauge.

·
Registered
512 Posts
One of the reasons I bought my Select Platinum Sporting was the recommendation of a gunsmith/friend of mine who was impressed by their build quality. As a long time Citori fan, after shooting the Winchester for over 2 years now, I would never buy a 12 gauge Citori again.

IMO the one valid criticism of the Winchester is their light weight for target use. Mine weighs exactly 7.5 lbs. Recoil has never been an issue, but I shoot 1 ounce loads and never more than a hundred a day. Extra weight can be easily added.

·
Registered
1,857 Posts
ShowMe2 and Trickster: