Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
i'm a newb too, apparently it has something to do with how much it would equal it blackpowder-power of the shell. I'm pretty sure the higher the # the more powder it has.

However like i said i'm a newb so i'll let the seasoned guys give you the real answer...

·
Registered
1,919 Posts
some archaic weight measurement for powder load i think. higher drams equal hotter loads or more velocity for a given shot weight.

modern shotshell specs just list the weight and feet per second performance. the faster the shot, the more powder charge it has.

you'll see "max dram" on buckshot or other high brass loads which might mean 1500-1600 ft per second on a typical 2-3/4's shell, but sometimes less if the shot weight is extra large.

I do believe the dram equivalent does have something to do with black powder weight measures.

·
Registered
2,705 Posts
Black powder is/was measured in drams. So many drams would produce so much velocity with a given amount of shot.

For example, 2-3/4 drams of blackpowder will push 1oz of shot to approx. 1200 feet/sec. However, 2-3/4 drams of blackpowder will only push 1-1/8 oz of shot to 1140 feet/sec.

With the switch to smokeless powder in the early 20th century, people were still accustomed to thinking in drams of powder so the shell manufacturers printed dram equivalent on boxes to give shooters an idea about how fast the shells were going. Here we are 100 years later using the same method.

Please note, smokeless poweder is NOT measured in drams as far as ammunition is concerned and one should NEVER put 2-3/4 drams of smokeless poweder into a shotshell.

·
Registered
114 Posts