Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to semi-automatic shotguns. I recently purchased a 11-87 Premier 20 gauge that was in pristine condition. I was following along with the instructions for disassembly. I removed the barrel, O-ring, and piston assembly. I got to the point where I was trying to remove the action bar, but spring from the stock released, pushing the bolt forward. I tried reaching in and pressing the feed latch to remove the action bar and bolt, but as hard as I tried, the feed latch didn't really show any inclination to move. Now things seem to be stuck. I can't get the action bar removed, I guess I don't know what to do. Did I do something wrong? What do I do to get out of my self-induced problem? Not sure how to get out of this.

Any help or guidance appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

·
Registered
23 Posts
My suggestion (if you haven't already tried it) would be to pull the bolt back about one inch. Then, check if the feed latch will move in by holding the bolt back while you access the feed latch from the bottom (through the carrier). If the feed latch moves in as it should, hold it there. Then slowly allow the bolt to close, pulling out the operating handle from the bolt when the spring stops driving it forward. Then grasp the action bar sleeve and pull the action bar forward. Don't force it. It should slide easily out of the receiver.

If this doesnt work, starting with the action closed, remove the trigger group by driving out the receiver pins and gently removing it. Then, you can see everything inside. Pull back the bolt about 1 inch and do everything else as described above. This time, you should be able to see what is hanging you up.

Good Luck!

PS, be careful when you clean out the inside of the receiver. There are some really sharp edges in there.

·
Registered
4,064 Posts