Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to skeet shooting. I shot a couple rounds for the first time last week with some friends and had a blast. I wondered why I didn't pick up on Skeet many years ago. I ordered a Beretta Xtrema which should be here in 2 days.

It will be a multi-purpose gun (hunting and clays) The gun fit me very well. (6'6" 270lbs)

My main questions are:
1. Do I need to order a skeet choke? The choke set has C, IC, M, IM, F. The gun has back bored barrels.

2. Is a 28" barrel a good all-around length for skeet and hunting? I ordered a 28". My current 870 Super Mag has a 26" barrel.

3. How much does a mid bead cost to have it installed?

4. Can a shell catcher be used to shoot doubles? I saw one in a book but it looks like the bolt will jam shooting doubles

Thanks in advance for any advice

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
Welcome to the sport, and have fun, be safe.

Here are MY asnwers to your questions, other may disagree -

1. Do I need to order a skeet choke? NO Use the Cylinder ot IC

2. Is a 28" barrel a good all-around length for skeet and hunting? YES it will do you for what you ask.

3. How much does a mid bead cost to have it installed? Even if it was free you don't need it so don't bother.

4. Can a shell catcher be used to shoot doubles? Yes but its no big deal to pick up the shels either, most skeet users do not bother with shell catchers

Just go have fun
Roger

·
Registered
11,943 Posts
3. How much does a mid bead cost to have it installed?

If you're looking at either bead, you just missed the target.

·
Registered
1,417 Posts
Just pick up your shells :) Skeet stations are far enough apart that you're not tossing shells onto the other guy's station (not like trap where people eject rounds into me all the friggin time).

28" bbl is fine.

I suggest IC for skeet. If I snuck your gun away from you, and secretly swapped out the chokes... I doubt you'd notice :)