Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a Lanber O/U and it has a switch where you can select barrel to shot.. do I have to switch the barrel everytime I shoot? or does it do it automaticly?
Yes, I am new to this and dont know squat about shot guns :)

Thanks guys
:?: :?: :?: :?:

·
Registered
161 Posts
I don't know that gun but the operation of barrel selctors is pretty much standard.

The barrel selector is used to pick which barrel you want to go off first. The second barrel will fire with your next pull of the trigger.

For whatever reason, the usual standard is that the bottom fires first, then the top. The bottom barrel usually has the more open choke, like improved cylendar, and the top barrel will usually have a tighter choke, like modified.

In the old days prior to screw in chokes, most makers of o-u shotguns had the open choke on the bottom, tighter choke on the top. Non selectable triggers,where you couldn't choose which barrel fired first, always had the bottom fire first. At least I don't know of any that fired the opposite.

So to answer your question, you don't have to worry about the barrel selector. Set it and forget it. Pull that trigger twice and 2 shots will be fired.

Good luck with your new gun.

·
Registered
218 Posts
The theory behind the bottom barrel firing first is it is more inline with your shoulder. This means the gun's muzzle will rise less and make it easier for a fast second shot. The idea behind the first shot being more open is that a bird is more likely to try to put distance between you and him, not the other way around. So your first shot would be closer than your second if you miss on the first one.

Selector's stay where they are set. When you open the shotgun it resets the squence and the chosen "1st" barrel is set to fire "1st" again. If you don't open the gun the trigger is set to fire on the other barrel so you just have to load and pull the trigger.