Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Clay Shooting. I shoot with one eye closed because if I try to use both eyes, I get double vision. I have been told that if I try to shoot with both eyes open, I could lead the targets better. Any thoughts or suggestions out there?

·
Registered
9,163 Posts
Two eyes is better, if your vision allows it.

Don't let anybody convince you that everyone does better using both eyes, and that anyone can learn to shoot with both eyes open if you try hard enough. Most people can, but not everyone.

Eye dominance is a far more complicated subject than most people think.

That said, I will add that you probably can learn to shoot with both eyes open, and if you can you will do better that way.

Unfortunately, I can't tell you how to do it. I've tried for years, with the help of a couple of instructors, and I still can't do it. However, one-eyed shooting has been good enough to get me into NSCA Master class, so it is not as bad as some would have you believe.

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
If you're getting "double vision" as you stated, the odds are you're focusing on the bead..... forget it's there, and focus on the target.

First, however, check your eye dominance. If you're not sure how, use the search function in this forum, and you'll have six months' worth of reading on eye dominance.

·
Registered
9,163 Posts
wwb said:
If you're getting "double vision" as you stated, the odds are you're focusing on the bead.....
That might be correct. It depends on what he meant by "I get double vision". Those of us who have no dominant eye or incomplete dominance (and there are a lot of us) see two equally-strong images of the barrel when we try to use both eyes, focussing on the target rather than the barrel. I simply cannot ignore one of the barrels and judge lead by the other.