Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at these different guns for a general purpose hunting shotgun. Ducks to bears.
The price range seems to start with the mossburg at about $500.00 and go up to the Benelli range of about $1500.00.
I want a gun that is reliable. I'm happy to pay for reliability, not much interest in paying for a name.
It seems like the marketing department has been working overtime on these shotguns, I'd really like to hear from someone with actual experience.
Thanks.

I tried the search function. My search skills kind of suck, though.

·
Registered
11,395 Posts
Though I have no experience, with 3.5" guns, I can tell you one that is on sale at Dick's this weel that has good reviews.

Remington (Baikal) SPR 453; $399

I have had no experience with these guns but the price is right and there are lots of good posts about them. Also, Dick's has shotgun ammo for half price this week.

Walmart has the Remington 11-87 3.5" usually around $575. I have had experience with this gun. It is a quality gun that I would recommend.

·
Registered
4,064 Posts
I've had the 11-87 supermag. I couldn't recommend it for the non Remington buff maybe wanting a do all. Things are generally deficient at cycling the widest variety of loads without knowing just what to do and how to do it. Plus they are maybe too heavy for some and they don't offer adjustment for those that they don't fit.
Browning/Winchester make nice ones. Beretta and Benelli both make nice ones. All probably work as well as the next some better than others perhaps. I'd favor gas operation vs an inertia operated one to cut down recoil as much as possible. The rest is to me is a crap shoot of what appeals to you and how it fits and feels.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Reading, reading,reading,reading,reading. As I read and read and read I hear from people and more people who have had bad experiences with this gun or that gun.