Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into trap and sporting clays. I have a few guns i'm looking to trade and came along a browning citori field grade 28" in 96% condition. It is from the 90's and would be traded for a gun which would be right at $1,000.

This offer just came up and i was just curious if this would be a worth while gun for me to start off with or if i should be in search of something other than a field grade or a 28" barrel.

Thanks for any guidance you have.
Dan

·
Registered
1,722 Posts
Browning offers various options on their "Clays" guns vs their "Field" guns, mechanically, their both the same. One will shoot just as well as the other for both. Citori Shotguns have proven themselves as a solid, reliable shotgun over the past decade. If the owner has taken care of the gun, it will be a solid shooter for years to come.

One of the reasons I purchased a Field Cynergy was because I didn't want porting on my barrels, one option Browning didn't offer on their Sporting Guns. I don't hunt, only use the gun for clays/skeet/5 stand and it has held up great!

If you feel the deal is a good one, by all means make the trade!

·
Registered
307 Posts
The Citori is a great gun, but if you intend to get serious about trap, the 28" bbls and field stock will not be suitable. Trap targets are risers and going away. You'll need a gun that shoots high, something not easily accomplished with a field stock. Right now, you're probably covering the bird. Eventually you'll need to see the bird in its entire flight. The 28" bbls are also a little short, considering the longer sighting plane that trap shooters prefer. Barrels are usually anywhere from 30", out to 34".