Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently did a little pattern trial with Lefever Nitro Special, 12 ga., M&F. I wanted to see how things looked at 25 yards. (They looked pretty far!) Shot both barrels a couple of times using fresh paper each time. Results for both barrels were very similar; both put the majority of the shot, #6, into an 18 inch circle right at point of aim.

I thought there would be some discernable difference between the barrels, but there was none that I could see, so I counted, as best I could, the number of shot in each circle and they were almost the same. Roughly 160, give or take a few. Ammo was inexpensive Winchester field loads from WalMart. This was not what I expected.

I'd be interested in anyone's views and/or comments. I'm kind of new to this patterning stuff, so I am all ears.

R.

·
Registered
14,546 Posts
Standard patterns are shot at 40 yards, and then you check for the greatest number of pellets in a 30" circle. What you did is okay for checking point of impact but it is hard to draw conclusions other than that it delivers good killing patterns at 25 yards..

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Even at the 40 yard pattern plate there is only 10% difference in the 30" circle between mod & full choke - that was the old 'parameter' and I am sure its the same now.
As Virginian said these are good killing patterns and the gun is shooting to point of aim in both barrels.
Another calculation from my old reference book says " Diameter in Inches of the Spread at various ranges of the whole charge of the gun - mod choke at 25 yards is 26 Inches and full choke at 25 yards is 21 inches". There is not really much in it on that basis.
It might be worth going out to 40 yards and having another try - so far as I remember your full choke should put 70% of the pattern in the 30" circle and the mod choke 60%.