Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Doubt it.

Fosters are near full bore, up to .730. ML sabots are not that big to my knowledge. The only sabot for shotgun reloaders I'm aware of is the CCS, and it's one of the most expensive components of the load anyway, so you wouldn't really be saving anything.

But keep thinking... :)

·
Registered
864 Posts
I used to try to put my own sabots together, way back when. Allot of ideas were blown out of the water when they were tried and failed. So far the Lyman sabots, are by far, the best yet. It has very little bore contact, and can be moved at fairly high velocities. The recipes are simple, and easy to put together. I have been doing it for many years now :D

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ooh! I got another idea!

You can use a 50 caliber muzzleloader bullet, and buy a solid wad, where you drill out a .50" hole and slice it in half so it can fall off the slug from the centrifugal force from the rifling. Then you put the bullet in that drilled hole in the "wad-sabot". How about that?

·
Registered
864 Posts
You know I was going to say .... Stay away from muzzle loader bullets, because most of them are made to soft to withstand the pressures in a shot shell. They will crush, and push out, causing high pressures. Muzzle loaders, for the most part are very low pressure guns.

But now I must say, never mind what I said above, cause it sounds like you want to blow yourself up :shock: Hey, I have nothing against perfecting good loads. But when you start just slapping components together, without ever loading sabots before, you are just asking for trouble.

I really don't want to read about you in the obits, or read any headlines of the paper, stating that a man blew himself up at the target range :? It isn't worth it, when there is loading data out there for sabots like the Lyman sabot.

So I hope you change your mind, and just load some sabots that there are recipes for :D

·