Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering how much money it would be to start reloading shotgun-shells. I would like to know how much it is for a machine, powder, bb's and the other supplies. I am new at reloading so I would also like some advice on which products are best. :oops: {P^ :s

·
Registered
8,218 Posts
Lyman's 4th Edition Reloading book.......$15.00
Scales............................................$50.00
Mec 600 jr.reloader............................$120.00
Powder............................................$15-18.00 a lb.
Primers.............................................$22.00 @thousand
Wads................................................$6-7.00 @ 250
Hulls.................................................Free, if you scrounge, if bought, 4-6 cents a pc. for 12 an 20 ga.
Shot.................................................$17-23.00 @ 25 lbs.

This is just a rough figure. Some will cost more, some less. Depending where you buy, an how much you buy at a time. Reloader can be bought used on ebay for a lot less.

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
Using Don's figures and quantities, which are pretty realistic, it'll very likely cost you more to load a box of 12 or 20 gauge shells than you can buy Remington Game Loads for at Wally World ( $3.32 a box).

The only way you can beat that price for those gauges is by buying at the lowest prices in bulk -- a case (5,000) of wads and primers and powder at least one 8 lb. jug at a time.

And even that might not be economical unless you can find shot for $20 a bag (25 lbs.) or less.

It's just a hard, cold fact that buying components in small quantities from mom and pop suppliers who won't deal in bulk quantities will not save you anything.

Reloading for 28 gauge and .410 is a different matter, since those shells cost about $7 a box new.

·
Registered
3,028 Posts
Don's got it 'bout right.