Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the whole competition side of shotguns , but i went to the local gun club here and every tuesday night they have skeet shoots and i was thinking of getting into it ... now i have 2 questions what are the differences between skeet , trap and clay's ????? i for years thought all of these were the same thing just termed different

My second question is what is a good trap/skeet/clays shotgun out there , i dont want a entry level but i dont want a full custom job either .... i just want a shotgun that i wont feel i need to upgrade if i get seriously into this sport .... i was looking at the Beretta AL391 Teknys gold sporting ...... is this a good choice or not so much??? Im not new to shotguns just most of mine wear surefires and trijicons if you know what i mean.

Thanks Donnie

·
Registered
96 Posts
The AL391 Teknys Gold Sporting is an AWESOME gun. I'm familiar with your type of shotguns as well. My SureFire's hang off a Bushmaster M4. Back to the shotguns... The Teknys Gold Sporting is good for all games - skeet, trap, sporting clays, 5-stand, wobble-trap, etc. It is the Cadillac of autos. If you're looking for a souped-up Chevy, you might want to look at the AL391 Gold Sporting for a couple hundred bucks less. The Teknys has a lot of features one might purchase later to modify their gun. I bought my Teknys brand new for $1,450. You can get an AL391 Gold Sporting for $1,195 new. The major differences are that the Teknys has the following additional "features":

GelTek Recoil Pad
TruGlo Fiber Optic Sights
8.5 oz recoil reducer in the buttstock
Quick Release button
Cooler looking receiver
nicer wood

Are you dead set on an automatic? For an extra $150 over the Teknys, you could get a 686 White Onyx Sporting Over/Under which would give you a little more versatility for all of the sports. Just a thought.