Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
30,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In one of the stranger headlines today comes the apparent (never discount a hoax) prediction of a man named Mike Lee who predicted, he says from a dream as a child, that the Cubs would win the World Series in 2016, and had that prediction as his caption in his 1993 high school year book.

1993 yearbook prediction goes viral
http://www.cnn.com/videos/sports/2016/1 ... al-pkg.wgn

I try to be a skeptic with a slightly open mind.

But this is one of those coincidences that might, maybe be a sliver of proof that dreams may predict the future.

Do you believe that some modern (let's leave out ancient prophets and religion) people have some kind of gift for prophecy?

I'd like to, but it takes more than this to convince me.

·
Registered
1,497 Posts
I'm no prophet but I certainly believe in premonition. Ive had dreams about things I couldn't have possibly known about beforehand just to have it happen the next day or the next week. Things that I had no control over. It doesn't happen very often.

I wouldn't take it as proof if they do win as it could just be a coincidence.

·
Banned
30,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That Mike Lee apparently predicted the Cubs to even be in the 2016 World Series at least 23 years before the most unlucky baseball team in history is against incalculable odds.

Perhaps the most convincing case, ever, of a well documented premonition was by retired tennis player Edwin Fischer who had sent various post cards to friends warning them to not be on Wall Street in New York on September 16, 1920. The famous Wall Street bombing occurred at noon on September 16, and although arrested, the authorities determined he was insane, harmless, totally innocent (he was entirely alibied) and that he'd made other predictions that didn't pan out. But Fischer hit the date of the bombing on the nose.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_P._Fischer

He claimed God told him.