Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to skeet shooting and I have been using a Mossberg 500 but have been having some trouble with the second shot on the doubles. I have been thinking about going with a auto but what do you think? Is the semi-auto worth the extra $$$? And if so, what is the best for under $500 (new or used)?

Thanks,
Jonathan

·
Registered
4,124 Posts
I would say go with a remington 1100 used.

Used it should be around $300.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Go with the Auto. With the reliability of today's auto's you can't go wrong. I was a huge advocate of pumps until I actually spent some time hunting and shooting Trap and Skeet with an auto. Man what a difference, especially on the Trap and Skeet range. The biggest difference is the amount of felt recoil, with the new gas operated semi auto's having so much less. In my opinion, pumps are a dieing breed. Seems most manufactures are focousing much of their emphasis on autos now, IMHO for a good reason.

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
Clayshooter is right on the mark with that one. 1100 can be had for a pretty good price in great condition used and also has a ton of accessories and loads it can shoot.

·
Registered
827 Posts
AMEN on the auto . after u shoot a auto for awhile youl never go back to the pump. or at least i havent anyway lol

·
Premium Member
19,741 Posts
WOW :!: :!: What a change in attitudes about autos versus pump guns in only one month on this board. :!: It was only about one month ago that I was advocating the auto instead of the pump gun for clays/skeet shooting and I got villified by all the pump gun advocates. Many of them claimed (incorrectly) that the pump gun was as fast or faster than the auto and that the pump was much more reliable than the auto.