Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a great deal of experience reloading centerfire ammunition but I am a complete novice shotshell reloader. Since I have taken up an interest in skeet competition I realize that I am going to have to deal with 410, 28 and 20ga reloading. My question is, to those of you experienced with the Hornady 366, how difficult and time consuming is it to switch between gauges? I currently use a Dillon 550B for much of my centerfire reloading and I am quite satisfied switching "heads" to change from one caliber to the next. Looking at the Hornady 366 I see the availability of conversion kits but I am concerned that a complete dismantling of the unit is required to switch between gauges. How difficult is it? How do you like your 366? I have used one MEC Grabber previously and found it to be a very frustrating experience.

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
The 366 can be converted, but I suggest you do not plan upon it as a routine. The changing of the 550B, even when you need to change out the shell plate, is a snap in comparison to switching the 366 from one gauge to another. I suppose, though, loading up several cases of one gauge, switching dies out and then loading several cases of another gauge, and so on, might be an effective approach.

I have the 366 in 28 gauge and don't have any serious complaints with it. I'm curious, though, as to the kind of problems you had with the Grabber. It's quite possible you would have the same kind of problems with the 366, so let's kind of talk through it.

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·