Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new/old shotgunner, I've been away from hunting and shooting for 20+ years.

I've read here and elsewhere about the recoil of the Benelli inertia system. To put it in perspective for me, how does that recoil compare with a breech-load gun? I grew up shooting a break-action single-shot twelve, so recoil is nothing new, but how does the Benelli action compare?

·
Registered
502 Posts
dp, first off let me welcome you to SGW the friendliest forum on the www.

Now, not that I am an expert on the topic but I have owned a Benelli Sport II in the past and I now only shoot a Browning XT golden clays or the BT-100 at the trap range and I have to say for precieved recoil the Benelli was by far in my opinion one of the lightest recoiling guns that I have ever shot. The only reson I sold the gun is I got just under what I paid for it and it did not shot high enough for me with out making some serious modifications which I can do on the XT and the BT-100. I did have a problem with light loads in it but I did not own it long enough to really break it in for the lighter 7/8 oz loads that I was shooting at the time.

I'm sure that there or people here in SGW who are alot more intelligent than I and have more experience with the Benelli guns but that is my experience with them. Limited to say the least.

·
Registered
5,610 Posts
The difference in felt recoil between a break-open gun and a semi-auto will be significant. I too did not complain when shooting a single shot hammer 12-gauge when I was a kid. That however, cannot be compared to shooting 25 shots, one right after the other on a trap, sporting clays or skeet range and possible doing it three or four times during a morning or afternoon.

Recoil is cumulative and its effects increase during a day's shooting. You are also older, possibly in poorer shape than you were when younger and more subject to injury.