Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello y’all I am new to this form I have a question
I have a CZ semi automatic shotgun and win at the trap club or sporting clay event. It will not cycle shotgun shells that shoot slower than 1350 fts.
I have been buying the Winchester super dive load that shoots 1350 but they are getting hard to fine.
I am thinking to start and reloading some shotshells, but I need help on what primer what brand of powder how much powder and what shot to use to get 1350+ to 1400 feet per second?
I would like to keep using 6 or 7 1/2 shot if possible
Please help
Thanks

· Registered
36 Posts
First and foremost, welcome to the forum. A few things to help ease you into reloading: Get yourself a Lyman Shotshell reloading manual. I think it’s currently on edition 5. Read it front to back, it’s full of knowledge and you’ll be able to build off of that foundation. We can give you recommendations and whatnot, but with the shortages and stock available, it would be pointless to tell you what to purchase if it’s not available. If you have local gun shops, visit or call them to look for primer and shotgun powders, don’t buy anything yet. You’ll need some good recipes to follow and then you can buy components. you’ll want to start saving hulls. I would start collecting other people’s, or even call some local ranges and see if they’ll save some for you, or let you dumpster dive for them You can always start buying brand new with hulls, buy why purchase when they are free? i know this isn’t the answer you’re looking for, but it won’t be easy. It’ll take some planning and saving and research before you actual get loading. Someone might even come along to tell you how to fix your gun so that it accepts 1150fps loads lol. Welcome to the forum and best of luck.

· Registered
28,068 Posts