Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to Guns and Hunting, however I have been hunting for the last two years in Michigan (Pheasant). The hunting lodge has supplied the gun which is an 11-87 12-gauge. My other buddy who hunts with me always take the 1100 20-gauge. I am now thinking of purchasing a gun. I like the feel of the 1100 20-gauge because it's lighter and less recoil. The 12-gauge gets heavy after a couple of hours in the field. I will mainly shoot skeet, quail and Pheasant with it. Should I go with the 1100 20-gauge, 11-87 20-gauge or the 11-87 12-gauge? My other question is what should I expect to pay for these guns new and how much would I expect to pay for a nice condition second hand one?Thanks,Chris8)

·
Registered
263 Posts
I would go with the 1100 20 gauge, and don't say its just because i'm a woman. Really 2 shots in skeet will be easier on your shoulder, and it is lighter so you can carry it longer in the field.:hat Browning, The Best there is because second best is well...second best.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I would take the 11-87 20 ga. I sell several of those for just that reason.. they are light and can be carried in the field for a long time. At Wal-mart, you can get an 11-87 for $599 and that is for either the 12 or the 20 ga. I am sure that you could find some second hand ones for less, but you would really have to look around at your local gun shows for them. Or if you have some gun shops they tend to get second hand guns and at least the ones I go to you can get desent prices. If you wanted to pick up an 1100 you would have to check your wal-mart to see if they carry it, they can special order them for you if you want, but then you pay through the nose.Hope that helped some. "I can raise kids and still kick your *** in clays"

·
Registered
180 Posts