Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, was wondering if anybody uses the cheapo 3.00 box @walmart, remington high velocity 7/8 ounce 12 ga shells(black) for reloading? i'm new to reloading and was quite suprised how well these reloaded, at least a couple of times. i have lots, as i actually shoot them also. i never realized how much the hull can change the recipe, are these considered the same as sts, aa or any others? thanks for any help

·
Registered
51 Posts
From what I have read the STS & Nitro hulls are the same one piece construction.... Haven't read anywhere anyone loading the hulls you have...(cut the outer hull to see if they are one piece)....Bob

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I called Hodgdon on this one and they said it is ok to reload like the sts or nitro 27's.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think that a lot of the hulls that get tossed would probably be alright for reloading at least one if not a couple of times. Problem is trying to find load data on them is tough. You don't have the proper load data, and you could be in or a nasty suprize! :shock:

I could pick up litterly thousands of Cleve Mirage hulls, which don't look like to bad a hull, very clean after being shot. I also see many of the black hulls, and blue challenger hulls left behind.

Problem is there is no load data on them. What can one do? It would be a great way to recycle plastic?

I hope your loads work out good for you!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the replies and dogs for calling! if they have them available at walmarts by you guys, not a bad deal at 3 bucks a box and they reload pretty good. i use solo 1000-only because thats what a friend recommended, anyone give me a reason to switch to hodgden, as thats what a lot of people use here? i'm also considering getting into 28 ga. reloading, i think hodgden universal will work for both, 12 and 28, am i sacrificing anything by getting one powder for both? thanks again, paul

·