Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need serious help. I am new to shotguns. I realized after two weeks of trying to fit a gun, the problem lies here. I shoot right handed but my left eye is dominant. So what do I do.. get a lefty and learn to shoot and hold it? Or do I get a regular right handed gun and compensate? I am so frusterated I could scream.

Please advise!

Andy

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
do a word search on this site for "cross" and you'll see the volumes we've written on the subject. It is possilbe to train yourself to shoot left handed or to be right dominant. The one post I read that really caught my attention was about Tom Knapp (current godfather of the shooters circuit) having a hi-viz sight that can help this out. Here is a post courtesy of Tom Knapp from his website http://www.tomknapp.net

"Hey Kevin it's Tom Knapp

I use a very interesting fiber optic front sight that is designed (with a hollow tube) in front of the bead which helps the shooter in many ways. The most interesting aid of this feature is the fact that the shooter can keep both eye's open and see the bead only with the eye that is directly behind the sight. In other words, you can't cross over with your other eye. This sight works well for about 80% of the shooters with eye dominance problems.