Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks...

I have learned a great deal on this forum, but one thing I haven't really heard much about is a Ruger Red Label. Does anyone have one? If so, what style (length, stock, gauge)?

I'm pretty new to trap shooting, and kinda have the hots for a Red Label. Just love the look of it!

-elber

·
Registered
83 Posts
Just last week, a kid at my local shooting club and his dad were shooting. Dad was shooting a silver pigeon and his son had a 20 ga ruger red label. It looked to me that it shot very well.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies folks!

Amy from Ozark - I figured that they would be pretty hot sellers, especially to folks new to the sport (like myself) who don't want to invest deeply at first, but still want a quality O/U.

I have been seeing some posts that boast a reputation of "kicks like a mule", but some folks don't seem to think so...

What do all of y'all think?

-elber

·
Registered
354 Posts
elber said:
I have been seeing some posts that boast a reputation of "kicks like a mule", but some folks don't seem to think so...

What do all of y'all think?

-elber
My opinion, but: A 12 gauge gun is a 12 gauge gun. It can only kick with as much energy as the shell expends. If you're getting hurt by your gun you need to address how you're holding it, how it fits, etc. Yes, a gas operated semi will kick somewhat less due to absorbtion of some of the recoil, but even that reduction is somewhat overrated.

I've shot a Red Label and didn't find it kicked any more than any other 12 ga. They're fine guns and should be considered of the same level of quality as most other $800-1200 guns. Plus Ruger is a great company to deal with (I own 4 - all non shotguns).

-- Sam

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
The Red Label 28g is one of the trimmest stackbarrels I have ever swung, and at half the price of those that come close in that gauge.

G

·