Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on rebluing an old Model 12 I have, and I'm wanting to do it the same way it was done from the factory. I already know I need to make a humidity box, and I've already went to a welding shop and having a boiling tank made but I was wondering if there was any little tricks that you guys do that can make things easier along the way.

I'm going to use the rust bluing solution called Belgium Blue, but I don't really know, what do you guys suggest? I think I've got most of it put together but like I said I'd like to have your guys input on this, especially since this is my first time trying this.

I'll be in WV for a couple weeks bowhunting, but whenever I get back I plan on getting everything together. Any helpful hints are appreciated.

Matt

·
Registered
3,475 Posts
If I can assume you are using Brownells blueing system, be sure to get their degreaser to boil the gun in and be sure your steel wool is absolutly oil free. They have some good instructions that need to be followed exactly. It isn't really all that hard, just follow what they say and the job will turn out great, I know from experience.

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply ruger4570, I didn't know I needed a degreaser to boil it in. All I thought I needed was distilled water that had all the impurities removed. Thanks for the tip, I'll check that out. Also, someone said to dip the steel wool in acetone to remove the oil that keeps it from rusting, do you know anything about this? I'll go to brownells and check out the degreaser your talking about. Oh and I'm not planning on using the bluing system brownells offers, but if it looks better I'll check it out, I've got a couple barrels and a complete model 12 to do.

Matt

·
Registered
748 Posts
This isn't meant to be condescending -