Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sorry if this topic has been hashed out before, but I'd like to hear your recommendations for a shotgun. I'm new to serious shotgunning and I figure this is the place to ask. I have been invited to southern Illinois for the late (Dec.) deer season. I do not have an appropriate shotgun for the occasion. I do have a Mossberg 500 Persuader (8 round, 20.5" bbl) that I've shot some trap and sporting clays but I would like one better suited to a more "sporting" purpose.

I have searched the major manufacturers' websites and found that there's an amazing number to choose from. My intended use for the gun would be deer hunting this season (and hopefully others), appropriate practice in the summer and clays the rest of the year. My budget for the gun and scope is around $1000.

My Plan:
Get a shotgun with 2 barrels, one for deer and one for clays. I'd like to get a 26" barrel for clays. I'd like to get a rifled barrel with a cantilever scope mount so I don't have to worry about re-zeroing the scope every time I swap out the barrels. Once set up I'd like to hit the range as much as I can.

My questions (in no particular order) are:
1. Would I be at a disadvantage or handicapped with a pump instead of auto for hunting?
2. What are the advantages of a Pump? Auto?
3. For the autos do they tend to get dirtier from the gas systems?
4. Are the gas systems a pain to adjust for different power loads? (Browning says there is no adjustment, is this true?)
5. What brand/type of scope? Fixed? Variable? Red dot? I was leaning toward a fixed 2x or 2.5x.
6. Are the Brownings and Benellis worth the extra money?
7. 3" or 3.5" chamber? Can the 3.5" chamber still shoot the 2.75" shells?

I appreciate any feedback I can get. If you see any flaws in my plan or have anything else I should consider, please let me know.

Thank you for your time,

·
Registered
7,201 Posts