Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do fiberoptic beads make that much difference to you when hunting dove? How do you adjust your aim when shooting at fast moving targets such as dove? I average about 7 shells a bird and I am not sure that I am putting the bead in the right spot in relation to the bird.

I typically lead them by about 1/4-1/2 inch (perspective as looking down the barrell on a 25-30 yard shot) Is this too much, too little? Should I always strive to just put the bead on the bird and let followthrough do the rest of the work?

Like I have mentioned before, I am new at this and trying to gain as much knowledge as I can. Thanks.

Bushman

·
Registered
18 Posts
My lead all depends upon the angle of the bird. If the bird is flying perpendicular (Sp?) to me then I lead it about three fingers. Less depending on the angle. That is somthing you will just have to get a feel for. I recommend going and shooting skeet or better yet sporting clays to get some good practice in. However, nothing beats time in the field.

Happy hunting,
CC

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
Bushman,
I'll bet your hunting with a Modified choke and/or valuepak shells.

If you are, try opening the choke to improved, get some better 1oz or 1 1/8oz shells (Remington Shur-Shot or heck even some Remington STS) and give it another go.

If I'm wrong then Tal/IL (member out here) says that a crossing bird flying 45mph with 1200fps shells at 35 yards should be lead by 6.6feet.

·
Registered
20,533 Posts
If you are determining your lead by 1/4", 1/2", 3 fingers, or a similar method measured at the muzzle, you are doing it WRONG :!: The correct way is to project the line of the muzzle out to the TARGET, not to bring the target into the muzzle. Look at the target and then estimate the lead by the distance where the target is now and where your muzzle is pointed out at the TARGET distance. That way, you concentrate on the TARGET, not the muzzle.

·