Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to shotgun sports and so far, have only shot skeet. I'm having trouble finding local instruction so I've resorted to reading anything and everything that I can about shooting form. My question relates to 'site picture'. I shoot a Beretta AL391 Optima Sporting. This gun has a mid bead on the rib. I've always assumed that I was to cover the front bead with the mid bead to ensure my eye was centered left to right and that I was looking right down the rib. Recently, someone suggested to me that I should acutally see a "figure 8" formed by the two beads....the front bead being on top of the mid bead. What should the correct site picture actually look like?

Thanks in advance
-Steve

·
Premium Member
4,416 Posts
Hello Speed3172,
Welcome to Shotgunworld.com!
I shoot with both eyes open and wouldn't know there was a mid bead on my rib if I didn't see it when I cleaned the gun. :wink: The front bead is all I have time to use unless I'm pattern testing. It's likely you will get several different answers to your question. I would recommend that you do a pattern test and see which method is the most aligned with your shooting style.
Hope it helps and don't forget to tell your friends about Shotgunworld.com Forum.
regards,
Jay Gentry
Shotgunworld.com

·
Registered
520 Posts