Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the deer hunting scene, and I want to use my Winchester 1300 this fall. Is it better to use buckshot or a slug on a deer? Also, is it necessary or more ethical to get a scope? Thanks.

·
Registered
19 Posts
How good can you track? I have harvested many deer with a shotgun, both buckshot and slugs. I would say more anchoring shots are delivered by a well placed slug, Buckshot will sure get the job done but lacks some of the knockdown power at longer ranges, meaning you might have to track your deer.

Remember one thing....at close range, a heavy load of OO or 000 buckshot is one of the deadliest small arm rounds in the world. The key is the range. I live south of the rifle/shotgun line in Michigan, meaning if I want to harvest a deer locally it must be done with a shotgun or muzzleloader. I have never used a scope on either weapon, but know many folks that do.

I just personally dont have the need for a scope at shotgun and muzzleloader ranges. Doesnt make me right or wrong, just never used one...a GOOD scope will set you back almost as much if not more than another gun (depending on the gun)

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Personally, I'd stick with the slugs. It's hard to imagine that a load of buckshot at 20 yards will do more damage than a solid hit from a slug at the same range. I've seen deer run an awfully long way with a few pellets of buckshot in them. Sure, they can be wounded with a slug, but the chance of doing so seems less, given that there's only the one projectile.

Never have needed a scope, because I don't take shots with a shotgun at ranges more than about forty yards. Just my ethic, only applies to me, not saying you should do likewise. I hate tracking wounded deer, who don't seem to deserve the extra pain. I know--it's kinda sappy, but that's how I feel.

Best,

Jeff23

·
Registered
19 Posts