Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I've posted this on the right forum. I'm going to the gun show tomorrow and will be looking for several things.

I have a Baikal IZH27, 20 ga. in nickel (picking it up tomorrow :D ) and want to look for some once fired hulls. Which do most of you prefer for reloading for Skeet? About what should I expect to pay? Probably looking for a couple thousand.

I'm assuming I should shoot factory loads initially during break-in and will be on the lookout for a deal on those based on whichever of the hulls you guys suggest for reloading. Again, what would good prices be for approx. 4 flats? I think a flat is 250 rounds.

I need everything since I'm just starting out, again. I'll be looking for a case, shell bag/box, empty shell holder? Anything else you might suggest? I'm also hoping to find a good deal on a reloader. Anything special I should look for as far as condition, trouble spots, brands/models to stay away from etc.?

What about preferences for powder, wads etc. based on the preferred hulls? Sheesh, I hope this isn't to long of a post.

Oh, I'm guessing I should be looking for no. 9 shot since I'll only be shooting Skeet. Is that correct?

Thanks in advance. I really like this site. It truly is "the Friendliest Shooting Forum on the Net!"

· Registered
117 Posts
Holy Cow...!
now that was a lot of questions!

I'll try to answer a few of them and leave some for some other folks.

First off, I would look for Winchester AA or Remington Premier hulls or both. I shoot the same load out of both hulls and it works just fine. expect to pay about 6 cents a piece for them. I disremember exactly, so you'll want to confirm this with a published load but I like 16.5 grains of Hodgdon Universal Clays, Claybuster AA20 equivalent wads, Winchester W209 primers, and 7/8 oz number 9 magnum shot.