Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I've been shooting trap for a couple of years with my Benelli Nova pump. I tried Skeet a few days ago and found that it was a little difficult with the pump, so I'm now thinking of getting a O/U to use for both. I don't have a lot of money, so I'm not interested in buying top of the line (and I realize you get what you pay for). Also, I'm not interested in an auto. With that said, who thinks the Mossberg Silver Reserve sporting would be a good starter O/U? If you have an opinion, please let me know if you've ever actually owned one. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
I don't own one so my opinion doesn't carry as much weight but here goes. If you are buying an over/under for targets, (trap,skeet,sporting) I would not get the Silver Reserve. I would save up my money and get a used Browning or Berretta. High volume shooting is hard on a gun and while I think the Mossberg would hold up for hunting I doubt its up to the thousands of rounds a target gun will need to be shot for you to get good at the games. My advice get one good gun and shoot it till you are good.

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
have you tried the gun in the store for fit? in skeet the fit on the doubles its more important than in trap. helps the swing or so ive found.

·
Registered
367 Posts
I've had my Silver Reserve for about a year and half ... no problems ... I've only shot trap and once I shot sporting clays .. I got it so I could shoot sporting clays and skeet .. I still need to shoot skeet

The gun is fine .. I just need to break a few more targets to be totally satisfied

·
Registered
895 Posts
My neighbor has 3 of them. a field gun, a 20ga, and the sporting clays version. He loves them but thinks the triggers are a little stiff. He did loss one firing pin on the field 12ga., but Mossberg took care of that for him. He shoots them very well and so do I when I shoot it. As A starter gun I think they are hard to beat.