Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks.

I'm new to this forum. I am also new to hunting. My father was not a hunter and no one I knew growing up with was in to hunting, but I always loved shotguns and the idea of hunting never left my mind.

I am a fisherman and love the outdoors. I decided I want to get in to bird hunting.

My plan is to buy a shotgun, the one I inherited from my father in law is a Winchester model 12, 16 ga with a full choke, not suitable to shoot with not-tox like steel I was told by a gunsmith.

I have spent hours and hours doing research in shotguns and hunting in this and other forums and I think i want to star hunting Doves and Quails first. I believe a 20ga semi auto in my price range ($800) should be good enough, (Weatherby sa-08 or Mossberg sa-20). Originally I wanted an O/U but the ones in my price range are either a little heavy or not to my liking.

Some people tell me I should buy a 12ga and be done, but I would prefer not to have to deal with the recoil for such small game like dove and quail "if" a 20 gets the job done efficiently. As I get more in to it and look for larger birds I would get a 12.

My question is; what is the likelihood that I can find some birds to shoot in BLM lands with in 2 to 3hrs from San Diego county? I bought all the maps that show private land VS BLM so I don't trespass. I can drive further eventually too, but to get started I'd rather stay with in the range of 3hrs drive.

I prefer not to have to pay $100+ to go shoot a handful of dove with outfitters and such. I enjoy being outside walking and exploring and hopefully come back home with a couple of birds...how hard can it be in CA?...(Sarcasm).