Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I've been loading lead target and hunting loads for a few years and I want to try to load steel for waterfowl. Do you guys have any manuals to recommend?
By any chance is it possible to put 1 3/8oz in a 3" hull? Don't need much speed, 1300 fps would be plenty.

Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
I don't know if any of our steel wads will hold 1 3/8. The multi-metal doesnt, and the sam1 is pretty packed with 1 1/4.

RSI manual is the best for steel IMO, they are an oldschool company though and you have to phone in all your orders which is very inconvenient.

BPI lightning steel is a good one, but favors the opposite of what you are wanting... its mostly light steel loads with good speed (up to near 1800fps)

BPI advantages has some steel loads, using their multi-metal wad mostly if I remember right.

Lymans 5th has a handful of steel loads up to 1 1/4.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you very much, truely makes me wonder what wad or at least how company can load 1 3/8 of steel in their 3" hulls!

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
Thank you very much, truely makes me wonder what wad or at least how company can load 1 3/8 of steel in their 3" hulls!
If you cut one open, most of the time the shot is well over the wad and still not a true 1 3/8.. i personally would not load like this but some people do. Modern barrels are harder than steel shot, so there SHOULDNT be any scoring but i would not take the chance. I no longer shoot factory 3" 1 3/8.

Also, and this is the main reason i dont shoot it, if you chronograph the Kent 1 3/8, they have never hit 1300fps for me. More like 1225-1250 which is too slow for me with steel shot.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·