Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to duck hunting and my buddy i hunt with is new to the type of hunting we have been trying the last few weeks. We are hunting a marsh behind his house that has a bunch of floating bogs that create small 50 yd and smaller potholes. We have had alot of ducks giving us the look and circle, out of range then look and circle again, few if any are coming in to the decoys. We can notget a john boat into that area, so we are paddling a canoe, and are going with a pretty small decoy spread, maybee a dozen duck decoys two geese, and a mallard mojo motorized decoy.

Here is what we were thinking next: on these small openings we dont think geese will land anyway soskip the goose decoys and use the limited space in the canoe for more duck decoys and another mojo. we have been seeing mostly mallards, wood ducks and geese, afew teal but most of the teal are probably already sounth of us i am guessing. I think we are going to write off geese unless you guys think they can be decoyed into the small openings. We are limited on space in the canoe but could go bring a few more if we pack it right.
How would you guys set up for the small water i am describing?
We pass shoot alot on a little bigger water but, the openings in the marsh here are so small it is very easy to drop birds into no mans land.
Whatcha think?

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
What state are you hunting? First thing is to decide whether the birds you're seeing are staging or actively migrating. Birds will stage in smaller ponds but birds that are actively migrating might have a preference for larger bodies of water. I've seen migrating birds land in the middle of the lake in 40 foot of water and sit for a couple of hours then take off and flying again.

If you can only hunt with a dozen decoys, I'd suggest a tight cluster in the middle of the pond. But more would be better and ditch the mojo if it ain't helping.

·