Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all!
i am new to organized shooting,been shooting clays at a freinds house at least once a week for ten years. i am going to start shooting all three types at a local club.

my question is ...... is a shooter judged by the gun he shoots more than the clays he breaks. like in golf where if you play with 1000 dollar clubs you must be good?

i will be using a stoger feild O/U.

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
If they give a rat's about what you shoot, find a new club.

There are always gonna be people that are there to show off their new gun, but you'll see the ones that don't care. The cool one's are the guys with the $10,000 guns and don't care what you shoot cause I've found they'll invite you hunting on their $20,000 quail lease :D

·
Registered
117 Posts
Welcome aboard, Out of all the forums out there for the shooting sports, this one, I have found seems to have a high percetage of Gentlemen (and ladies) and a low percentage of arrogant, know it all windbags. That's a good thing.
Now to the question at hand.
Gentlemen at a skeet or trap range tend to judge you by your charater and your manners more than anything else. If you are a lousy shot they tend to offer helpful hints, tips and recommendations... some times while poking a little fun at you. At least that has been how I've generally been treated. There is a fellow at our club who will shoot straights and 24's consistantly with a SxS stoger coach gun. He is an amiable fellow and fun to shoot with. All he really needs is a tube, a shell, and a hammer to bust clays. There is another fellow who I wached shoot a straight with all shots taken from the hip with a box stock 870. Again, nice guy, not a show off, very helpful. If you have a pretty gun, people will oooh and aaahhh over it to be polite but generally speaking, it is how safely you handle the gun and respect the guy who is on stand shooting.