Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting sporting clays for about three months now and my scores have ranged from 32-40 out of 50 targets. Sunday was a disaster with only 24 out of 50. I have developed a nasty case of flinching. What are some tips or techniques to overcome this problem?

·
Registered
520 Posts
Shoot lighter loads and make sure the gun fits you properly. One ounce target load will take some of the bite out of your gun. What kind of shotgun are you shooting?

APEXDUCK

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
I agree completely that you should use the lightest load that will do the job. When I shoot clays, I carry a handful of 1-1/8 oz 1300 fps loads for the LONG birds; everything else is 1 oz at 1180 fps. As a wise old friend of mine once said, "If you can miss with an ounce, you can miss with an ounce and an eighth."

Also, get some snap caps, and start shooting the TV, or, like my old buddy did, mount a laser pointer on an oscillating fan and shoot the red dot moving along the wall. Mount, swing shoot, follow through; again and again and again....Pretty soon your body will do it automatically and you'll lose the flinch.

·
Registered
20,519 Posts
If you will use the Move, Mount, Shoot method of shooting, your flinching will be reduced considerably. It is when you have the gun on your shoulder for several seconds and riding the target and measuring the lead that you are most likely to flinch. The less time you have to think about the sight picture, the less likely you are to flinch. At least, that is the way it seems to work for me. YMMV.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Use really heavy loads in a gun with a steel butt plate.

Oh! You wanted tips for not flinching. I get it now. :)

Some people find a release trigger helps. I don't think I could get used to it.

-- Sam

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·