Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I'm new to trap shooting and I'm really enjoying it. For some reason I am having a very difficult time hitting the birds that go straight away from me. The ones at an angle I hit much easier than the ones that fly straight away from my station. I've been told to aim under the bird because it’s still rising. I obviously do this because I hit the other birds and they are still rising but at an angle. I have a Trius One Step thrower at my house and the other day I shot 2 boxes of ammo on just straight away throws. I'm very inconsistent on those throws. When it’s at an angle I more consistent and hit them at a much higher percentage. It’s been driving me nuts because the easiest clay to hit is the toughest for me. For example my last trap shoot my score was 21, but 3 of my 4 misses where on straight away birds. I'm shooting a older BT99 which I have patterned and yes it shoots high. Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
3,021 Posts
Keep your head down on the stock and the gun moving.

Imo, one can shoot too much at a frustrating presentation and end up just practicing missing.
Relax...it's supposed to be fun.

Is your home trap throwing equivalent targets to registered?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My home trap thrower is no where near the same as a true trap thower, as mine is much slower and not nearly as powerful. Believe me I'm having a lot of fun shooting and its nice to do it with my oldest son. My second son is asking about it too, my third is only 9 but I'm sure they will all eventually want to shoot. I certainly don't want to practice missing, but I know that shooting more often is the only way to get better, so I shoot when I can.

·
Registered
92 Posts