Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
if you shoot both targets with one shot on dbls do you get credit for breaking both targets?...thanks

·
Registered
6,841 Posts
Nope. "First bird dead, proof pair." That means you have to shoot at another good pair, but only need to break the 2nd target with the 2nd shot to have it scored as a dead pair.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Its true that the pair has to be shot over. However, if you break the SECOND target first and parts of that broken target break the first target it is called "First bird LOST, repeat pair to establish the second target". This would be because you shot at the wrong target to start with.

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
RedForeman said:
This would be because you shot at the wrong target to start with.
And a possible indication you should consider gardening or something requiring less intense concentration for your leisure time.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I am also new at this, I did not know there was a sequence, wich one do you shoot first ?

·
Registered
5,551 Posts
In regular skeet, you shoot the outgoing target first when shooting doubles.
In sporting clays, if you break both targets with one shot, they are both considered "hit".

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
rene said:
... wich one do you shoot first ?
You always shoot the High House first, except on Stations 6 and 7 doubles.

Of course, if you're just funnin' around it doesn't make any difference which you shoot first.

I've been known to take a shot at a passing crow in the midst of a game.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Rene, when you shoot a double in regulation skeet, you always shoot the target leaving the house closest to you. Stations 1 and 2 (high house first). Stations 6 and 7 (low house first). Other than that we always shoot the high house target first for singles. Welcome to skeet shooting! Fair warning..it is highly addictive! :D :D

·
Registered
283 Posts