Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
I was in your shoes about two months ago. I weighted the pros/cons of each gun carefully and decided on a Remington 11-87 semi-auto. I wanted a good reliable first gun that I could use for target shooting and for upland bird hunting. Over/unders were over my $$ limit but I would have gone with one if I could have found a good one in my price range. I love my 11-87, I've put about 500 shells through it so far with no problems. Edited by: GSPLover at: 11/24/02 7:58:32 am

·
Registered
263 Posts
Okay i'd probably start with a remington unless you are willin to dole out the denero for a Browning Gold Sporting Clays ;) Both are good guns but the browning is a little better (ohh dear now i have started a debate) Browning, The Best there is because second best is well...second best.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I started shooting with a remington LT-20 1100 it is a great gun I need to send it off to have it repaired. I shot it so much the weld on the recoil spring broke. I still like a remington but I also have Beretta's I have changed the recoil spring tubes in my 303 and had the recoil spring replaced in my 390. Both are great target and bird guns. The nice thing about the Beretta's is that the recoil spring is threaded into the back of the reciever instead of welded. This makes the up keep easier with the Beretta and there are plenty of good used 303,390 and 391 out there to be had. Another thing about the Beretta over the Remington is the Beretta has a longer Length of pull typically than the Remington. Either will do you a great job. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
96 Posts