Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum as far as posting is concerned; however, I have been monitoring the forum for many months. I recently embarked on a quest to update my gun collection. My wife and I are thinking about having kids in a couple of years, and I know that if I don't buy now, it definately won't happen after the little ones get here.
My first purchase a few months ago was a shotgun that I have always wanted. A Ruger Red Label 12 gauge. I know there are a lot of folks that don't like the easy open action of the Ruger's, but I have been very pleased with the gun so far. I figure that will take care of any big upland game birds such as Pheasants, and I can always back off and shoot lighter loads for other birds.
My next purchase was a Benelli M2 in Max-4 camo. I plan to use it mainly for goose hunting, and the occasional duck hunt. Haven't got to shoot it yet, but I think I will be happy with it.
I am now trying to decide which gun to purchase for general upland/ small game hunting. I have looked at so many guns, I'm afraid that I have gotten terribly confused. I'm not even sure if I want another over and under, or a semi-auto. I have been looking at the Franchi 48AL as I like the light weight and the recoil operated action. I think a 28 gauge 48Al would make a great little dove gun. I have also looked at the Franchi 720 and the Beretta 3901, along with the Remington 1100 in 16 gauge. I have also considered the various Franchi over and unders.
I guess my question is this, if you guys were going to purchase two more guns to round out this collection, what two guns would you pick and why? Any and all opinions are welcome, as I could really use some help deciding.
I am trying to purchase good quality guns that will last for many years, as I will not be able to go on a buying spree like this again for a looooooong time. Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance.

·