Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to pumps and could do with a quick tip here.
Assume my mag is full. I chamber a round and don't take a shot. In the interests of safety, I want to eject that round without chambering another. What is the standard procedure for this? I would rather not go through the whole mag, chambering and ejecting each shot and then having to relaod that mag.

Thanks.

·
Banned
2,771 Posts
If your gun is not a Benelli Nova (the only pump shotgun with a magazine cutoff switch) your only option is to open the action, eject the cartridge from the chamber, and tilt the gun to remove the cartridge you just released from the magazine.

Not ideal, but there you go.

·
Registered
13,099 Posts
Flip the gun upside down. Push the carrier down and hold it there. Press the cartridge stop to the side and release one shell at a time from the magazine.

·
Registered
500 Posts

·
Registered
13,099 Posts
It works for auto's too. In fact, some models like the Franchi AL48 and Beretta Pintail/ES100 can only be unloaded this way.

·
Premium Member
20,026 Posts
Do as Worc said to remove the shells from the magazine first. Then, once the magazine is empty, push the action release button and pump the gun to eject the shell in the chamber. At all times while doing this, keep the safety on, keep your finger OFF the trigger, and keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So far, I think deadapair is showing me the right way.

To clarify the question, I don't want to empty the magazine, all I want to do is remove the chambered round without loading another round into the chamber. Basically, just to make the weapon temporarily "safe" in case of not taking a shot.

·
Premium Member
20,026 Posts
krusty said:
So far, I think deadapair is showing me the right way.