Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been wearing the same game vest for many years and it is time for me to give it to my son. I have been looking at new ones but have not come to any conclusions yet.

I hunt mostly pheasant although I go out for quail and dove so it has to be reasonably light weight because I am usually walking a lot. I really like either the mesh or "strap type" vests due to the ability stay cool. I do not need maximum pocket capability but I do need shotgun shell pockets and I prefer a flap that covers them. It must have a large game bag that is easy to get to and to clean out.

I tried on a Filson 30B game bag with blaze orange at my hunting club and liked it almost enough to spend the dough. I am open to suggestions on either a brand or a place to shop. I will probably keep this one for 20 years too and I am all out of sons so I need to do this right. Hey, maybe my wife will bury me in it!

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
I've been of the opinion to keep the vests simple.

Basspro and Cabelas have great selections of hunting vests.

I'm particular to the Columbia and Remington upland vests.

·
Registered
59 Posts
If you like the configuration of the Filson, then buy it. Yes they are expensive, but it's money well spent. While I use a different manufacturer's shooting/upland vest, I have one of their fishing chest packs and cannot say enough good about the quality and functionality of their products. Good, durable, well-made, quality materials and workmanship. You won't be disappointed.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Try sierratradingpost.com, the last time I looked they had several upland and shooting vests at a good discount. I have seen Columbia and several other brands at different times.
I got a Cabelas last fall on sale and think its the most versatile loading vest made, front, side and rear. Very comfortable too.
Good luck,
Steve

G

·