Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to both firearms and hunting. I bought a Beretta A300 Ultima this fall after getting suggestions from friends and really like it. I've become pretty familiar with taking it apart and putting it back together, as well as cleaning it. I noticed before my last Pheasant hunt that there was this weird bluish-white mark in the chamber. It's right in front of the ejection port on the barrels side. My one friend said you'll see marks like that from metal rubbing metal but I'm not sure what metal would be rubbing here. I first thought it was some weird residue but I couldn't get it to budge with a brush or patch. Is this normal, or at the very least, anything to be concerned about? It's had exactly 51 rounds shot through it, 50 being target loads.

Also, unrelated, but I was hoping to get some insight into the range of shotguns as it pertains to safety. I see in a lot of hunting videos there being either houses down range across a lake or bay where guys are duck hunting or a road with cars driving down it during field hunts. There was a chart in my Hunters-Ed course that showed the maximum range of different size shot at sea-level ranging from a few hundred feet to a few thousand, but I know that there's a lot of variables. In some of these videos, I could see that either the cars or buildings are pretty close. I know it's always best to play it safe than sorry but I was hoping to get some insights or maybe even rules of thumb when it comes to this, as it seems to be a pretty common thing.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Bicycle part Automotive design Automotive tire Carbon Rim
Hood Automotive design Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Bumper

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·