Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I'm sure the title will get some attention. :D

I'm sure this has come up before, but I have had little luck searching for a thread of this nature. Being new to reloading, I am aware of the fact that I will be using explosive primers and powder. I'm not a worry-wart, but would like to take the steps necessary to ensure safe loading. I understand keeping my equipment clear of any debris and loose powder and I won't be throwing primers at the floor like crack-pops anytime soon.

I would like to know what you guys wear for protection when you are reloading. Safety glasses? Face shield? IIIA body armor?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
448 Posts
Ear and eye protection. I like covering my ears since it reduces and minimizes the chance of being distracted by background noise.

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
Nothing special, and I've been smoking like a chimney while reloading for about 35 years.

Not that I'm recommending it for anyone else, but you asked.

·
Registered
4,117 Posts
I usually wear reading glasses, and most of the time I wear clothes of some sort, varying according to how hot or cold it is in my garage.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Hey Case thanks,I have smoked my pipe while loading for about as long. I just don't do it while filling the bottles.
Merry Christmas and A Happy and Healthy New Year
George

·
Registered
7,159 Posts
Old Shooter said:
Hey Case thanks,I have smoked my pipe while loading for about as long. I just don't do it while filling the bottles.
Merry Christmas and A Happy and Healthy New Year
George
I do have one safety rule around the reloading stuff: I don't lean over open powder bottles with a cigarette dangling in my lips.

Hot ashes dropping into one could possibly elevate the session's excitement level to heady heights.

·
Registered
8,218 Posts
Fourth of July at Christmas................. :lol: :lol: :lol: