Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on going deer hunting for the 1st time ever next year with my father in law. You will have to excuse my ignorance for I'm a newbie to hunting. He recommends that I get a shotgun. I would like to get a multi purpose gun that I can use primarily for deer but also can be used for waterfowl. I would love to hear any recommendations. My brother in law has a Benelli superblack, I love it but it is a bit out of my price range (up to 600$). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
448 Posts
What gun to get depends on your preferences and what feels "good" to you. Try shoulder several models and see which one(s) "point" the most naturally and feel comfortable when shouldered. Even better, if you can shoot a couple at say trap, that will be a good way to guide your selection.

Assuming that you have a reasonably restricted budget and since deer and birds are on the menu, I'd recommend a combo package (deer and bird barrels). Rem Express (I have this), or a Win 1300 are both good and not too pricey. The Mossberg is a good gun and inexpensive but I don't like the ported barrels.

Good luck and safe shooting.

·
Registered
623 Posts
Remington 870!! Get one with a long barrel and the buy a extra rifled barrel for deer.

·
Registered
13,099 Posts
There are a few very good semi autos that sell for around $600.00. Here are some models that I like.

Beretta 390 and 3901 are gas operated. They are basically the same gun with different shaped receivers. They are fairly light in weight, have stock shims, and automatic magazine cutoffs. They each hold four shells and can't accept extensions. They are not too bad to clean. The 390 only comes in B/S with a 28" barrel in 12 gauge.