Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have posted up a few questions about Beretta already, but want to know what you guys thought was the best all around buy for birds, skeet, trap and 5 stand? If you could have one gun to do it all. I have been doing it all with an 870 express for the last 4 years an want a new Semi-Auto.

Thanks
Looking

·
Registered
2,705 Posts
Most of the accessories that are good for the 391 are also good for the 390.

If price is a factor then, yes, the Walmart 391 is the right answer. If you have a larger budget, take a look at an Xtrema. If you're not at all interested in the 3-1/2" chamber of the Xtrema (I'm not) take a look at a 391.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
bopper said:
Most of the accessories that are good for the 391 are also good for the 390.

If price is a factor then, yes, the Walmart 391 is the right answer. If you have a larger budget, take a look at an Xtrema. If you're not at all interested in the 3-1/2" chamber of the Xtrema (I'm not) take a look at a 391.
I am not really interested in the Xtrema, I don't need the 3.5" chamber. What I do want out of the gun is versatility without looking silly. I don't want a Comp gun that won't serve good field use nor do I want a cheap field gun that I can't take to the range an shoot clays.

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
The Walmart 390 is fully the gun that the 391 is for field or sporting clays.

There is no practical functional difference from the 391 - in fact some 391 users have had problems with the straight 391 carrier but I've never heard of any problems with the "bent" 390 carrier. Personally, I believe that the 390 is easier to clean than the 391 and almost as easy to clean as my wife's 303. My Walmart 390 functions reliably with heavy 1 1/4 ounce lead loads, fast 3" 1 1/8 ounce steel loads and my very light 7/8 ounce target loads.