Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into shotguns and want to make a good first desicion. I plan to duck hunt and clay shoot more than turkey, but plan to do all three. I am deliberating between the different Benelli models and my dilemma is this. The SBE is on it's way out and I can get one in camo for $899, The SBE II is $1299. Both as you know will shoot 3 1/2" but only one with the comfort tech. Or $1050 for the M2 w/ comfort tech (no 3"). Is the recoil advantage of the SBE II worth $400? Also I was advised to go with a 26" barrel for the ease in a duck blind. Is it true that the 24" SBE points like a 26" because of the way the barrel is layed out on the gun?

Any suggestions? thanks :?

·
Banned
8,378 Posts
I won`t tell you which gun to buy but from my experience with the comfort stocks they do work. My son and I use the supersport which is not a hunting gun but I am a believer in the stocks. Shooting a supersport 2 with a wood stock was all it took to form a opinion. There is a difference in a supersport stock though as it is a carbon fiber stock not plastic.

·
Banned
2,771 Posts
I've never been handicapped with a 28" barrel 870 in both the duck blind and the turkey woods. The advice you got regarding barrel length is very subjective and doesn't have enough basis to take as gospel.

If you don't shoot 3 1/2" magnums, the need for recoil reduction goes way down. I've never had a duck or goose that I centered fail to die when hit with 2 3/4" and 3" steel shells. The key is high speed loads (>1500 fps) and a good pattern. If you want it simple, buy Hevi-Shot, Bismuth, or Tungsten Matrix in 1 1/4 oz loads of #6, #5, or #4 and no duck will escape a good hit.

We can shoot lead at turkeys, so there is absolutely no reason to use a 3 1/2" shell on them.

·
Registered
13,108 Posts