Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Im in the market for a new all purpose shotgun.The only shotgun I own as of now is a 870 wingmaster which is great but id like an auto. This will be used for deer(with slug barrel),turkey,crows,pheasant,coyote and some clay for fun. Ive narrowed it down to a SBE2 or M2; now for my questions...what is the difference between the two other than the SBE2 is 3 1/2 capable? Which length barrel for my needs? (i want the timber camo version so i guess its between 24" or 26") Is the slug barrel forearm campatable with the field barrel, or do i need two seperate? Anything else please recommend. Thanks

·
Registered
56 Posts
bower,

I can tell you that I was in your position 3 months ago. I started pouring over the forums looking for opinions on benelis. The best thing that helped me decide was to get out a sheet a paper, make some columns and start writing. Put down the pros and cons for the models you are thinking about getting. First, ask yourself if you really need a 3 1/2 inch shooting gun. I decided I didnt. A lot of turkey and geese are shot with 3 inch shells.
If possible, get to a store and hold them. It makes a big difference of the feel between guns.
I saw an older SBE that the camo color had faded. It was a gun that was for sale at a Gander Mtn. That made me leery about getting one. Some guys say that the new ones dont fade. I would ask around about it.
Eventually, I went with a Cordorba (black). I liked the feel and the twist in choke tubes.

Good luck and let us know what you decide

·
Registered
22 Posts